Good Friday: Eli Eli, lama sabachthani?

Altar of St. Arnold Janssen Shrine Parish

When we hear the words of Jesus on the cross “My God, my God, why have you forsaken me?” it immediately tells us of suffering. The words that he said were actually part of Psalm 22. I got this from a sister of Singles for Family and Life, tickled my curiosity so I read the whole Psalm. Yes, it was a cry of suffering, of lament.. at first. But when you get into the middle verses, you’ll find there a proclamation of God’s name, an invite of praise. And it just struck me that despite of everything Jesus experienced, he was still in the state of praising God. I hope when the time comes that I’ll be facing big challenges in my life, I will still be able to do what Jesus did. And with His guidance, I know I will be able to.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Find this interesting? Leave a message! :)

